The Hidden Village of Aspergers

March 10, 2014

Life Of A Miser

Filed under: routine — kankurette @ 10:25 am
Tags: , ,

Now he’s living the life of a miser
He once played a life of Russian Roulette and it paid up in the end
And he don’t care cos he’ll put up with the stares

One thing I am very grateful for, and amazed about, is the ability that I can live on my own. I own my own home and I work part-time, earning just over £800 a month. Most of that goes on bills – water, gas, electricity, internet – and food. I donate to a couple of charities – Oxfam, Greenpeace and Mustard Tree (one reason why chuggers do my head in is because they can’t seem to understand that I can only give so much, and if I gave to every single charity that asked me, I’d be skint).

One of the hardest parts of living on my own and earning my own money is managing it. Money makes my head spin. I am, it has to be said, a bit of a tight arse, though I’m willing to treat my family to nice presents, and gig tickets are my main luxury, though I try to stay with friends or family when I’m in other cities. Hotels and travelodges aren’t cheap. I refuse to get a credit card, as I’m worried about splurging and debts which I will never be able to pay off (I still haven’t paid off my student loan, and there’s no chance of that happening while I’m in my current job). When setting up a new bank account, I refused to get one that had extra ‘perks’, as it would mean a monthly charge. One good thing about being extremely paranoid is the fear of getting mugged off, and thus treating any potential scam with suspicion, such as the phone calls I got claiming I was owed money. I smelled bullshit and did a bit of research and sure enough, it turned out to be a scam. (I wondered why there was so much noise in the background, and why the woman on the phone seemed hesitant to answer my questions, and why she kept asking me about my bank.) I used to be very gullible as a kid, due to my tendency to take everything literally, and it is something I have to beware of. There are a lot of sharks in the water. I did get ripped off by a scam once, although fortunately, it wasn’t as much as it could have been. I have a gut instinct which is very reliable sometimes. Even back in 2002, when I was in Sixth Form, I got a Nigerian scam email and thought, “Who is this person and why do they want to give me their money? Why me of all people?”

That said, I developed a bit of a gambling habit last year, though fortunately it’s under control. I also got rid of Candy Crush Saga for the same reason, after realising that I was never going to complete it and that it was a huge waste of money. To be honest, I feel guilty about any kind of splurge, like with food – I barely get takeaways or ready meals, except the Covent Garden vegetable soups for when I just can’t be arsed cooking, or when it’s a 5:2 diet day (more on that later). Thank G-d I was taught to cook when I was a kid, and that I have enough energy to cook most of the time.

Most of my bills are paid via direct debit – I made the decision to do this after I kept getting warnings from the Council in my previous place, after I forgot to pay my Council Tax bill on time. Incidentally, one of the many things I found out the hard way was that when you move house, you are supposed to inform the Council. I got the fright of my life when I got a phone call at 9pm one night informing me that I owed the Council £1000 for unpaid Council tax on my last place, despite the fact that I had not been living in that flat during the designated period. I freaked and phoned my mum, and between us we managed to sort it out, and at least I’ll know the next time I move. Then there’s all the admin stuff revolving around the freehold in the building I live in, the signing of forms, the sending of letters and paperwork. I fucking hate paperwork. There is so much of it and I do file it and keep that which may become important, but sometimes I lose track of it. Plus with repairs and things, I forget, because as I said ages ago, stuff gets pushed out of my head and I can only contain a few things at a time. Right now, for instance, it’s gig month, and next month is my birthday and the month after that, Primavera and Barcelona. I still haven’t got round to having the lights in my kitchen checked out, though at least I got my boiler fixed. My house is not a rubbish dump, but it is as chaotic as my mind.

 

1 Comment »

  1. […] memories of Barcelona 7. Blow Your Cover: first sexual relationship 8. Influenza: getting ME 9. Life Of A Miser: managing money and other household things 10. Avenging Angels: relationship with my father 11. The Man: coping at work 12. Disco Dolly: […]

    Pingback by An announcement | The Hidden Village of Aspergers — March 10, 2014 @ 10:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

